Current Position: home > About China

Chinese Currency

chinese currency

The Renminbi (sign: ¥; code: CNY) is the official currency of the People's Republic of China (PRC), whose principal unit is the Yuan. The currency is legal tender in mainland China, but not in Hong Kong and Macau.

Renminbi  translates as people's currency. The renminbi is issued by the People's Bank of China, the monetary authority of the PRC.

A yuán (元) is also known colloquially as a kuài (块 - "piece"). One yuán is divided into 10 jiǎo (角) or colloquially máo (毛 - "feather"). One jiǎo is divided into 10 fēn (分). In Cantonese, widely spoken in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macau, kuài, jiǎo, and fēn are called mān (蚊), hòuh (毫), and sīn (仙), respectively. Sīn is a word borrowed into Cantonese from the English cent.

The official exchange rate between AU dollar and Renminbi yuan fluctuates in between t 1:5.0 t0 1:6.0 (1 AU dollar = 5.0  to 6.0 yuan RMB)

For current exchange rate, please click Money Converter for detailed information. 


Some of current paper note of Renminbi:

 paper note of 100yuan

100 Yuan

paper note of 50 Yuan

50 Yuan

paper note of 20Yuan

20 Yuan

paper note for 10 Yuan

10 Yuan

paper note of 5Yuan

5 Yuan

paper note of 2Yuan

2 Yuan